Dessert · Gluten-Free · Vegan

Salt & Pepper Chocolate Chip Cookies by My New Roots

In honor of National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day, I decided to make My New Roots‘s Salt N’ Pepper Chocolate Chip Cookies. I got this recipe from her wonderful cookbook by the same title. Her recipes are plant-based with a focus on health and wellness and so good! I’m obsessed!! I’ve cooked probably 50% of the recipes in the book since I bought it back in June. This book also inspired me to incorporate more plant-based meals (e.g. vegetarian, vegan) into my weekly menu.

Salt_N_Pepper_CCCs

I have been curious about these cookies since I stumbled upon it in her cookbook. I’ve grown up thinking chocolate chip cookies (CCC) are supposed to be sweet — sometimes, too sweet. When given the opportunity to put salt and pepper into a CCC, I got super excited. Finally a cookie that won’t be sugary sweet and may even be a little spicy! Thinking about it, this might be the cookie that embodies the awesome qualities of adding chili powder into your hot chocolate. A nice heat that just balances out the sweet and bitter notes of the chocolate. Hmm. Maybe I’ll try out chili powder in the next couple of batches!

These cookies were a major hit in my home and I have to make a second batch for family and friends who want to give them a try. Oh, and since these cookies have no animal product in them, feel free to lick the spoon clean. Give it a try and let me know what you thought about adding some spice to your chocolate chip cookies in the comments below.

Salt & Pepper Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan, Gluten-Free): Yields 16 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup
  • 2 tbsp almond milk (I chose almond milk to give it a nutty flavor, but you can use water or any other plant-based milk of your choice (e.g. rice, nut, seed))
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup turbinado/raw sugar (coconut sugar is the suggestion, but the raw sugar tastes really good too.)
  • 1/2 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1 tsp coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (at least 80% cacao. Trust me, it’s worth it!)
  • Flaky sea salt

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a small sauce pan, melt coconut oil over low-medium heat. Once melted, whisk in the brown rice syrup, milk, and vanilla. Remove from heat and set aside.
  3. Place the rolled oats into a food processor and grind until you have a rough flour. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl combine the sugar, salt, pepper, baking soda, and baking powder. Stir in the rolled oats.
  5. Quickly whisk your coconut oil mixture, as it may have separated a bit. Fold in coconut oil mixture in with your dry ingredients. You will get a nice wet, slightly sticky mixture. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  6. Spoon out roughly a tablespoon of batter and roll in your hands to make a rough ball. They are not super sticky, so it’s ok if they don’t make a perfect ball. Place your ball onto your prepared baking sheet, leaving 1-1/2 to 2 inches between each cookie (they will spread a lot). Garnish with a few flakes of flakey sea salt. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until golden brown.
  7. Remove from the oven and let the cookies sit on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack until completely cool.
  8. Store cookies in a tightly sealed container at room temperature for up to 5 days, if they last that long. 😉
